The Atonement of Jesus Christ and its relation to “Feed my Sheep”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I6FKiNVbw3Y

This is a very touching video presentation.  President Henry B. Eyring and Elder Jeffrey R. Holland talk about how the sacrifice of Jesus Christ is the motivation for Missionary Work in the Latter-Day Saint church.

Music by Ginger Fairbanks.
Video clips taken from “The Lamb of God” – produced by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

First let me thank my son for sharing this on Facebook.

There are two points from this which greatly stand out to me.

1.  When I am tired, or drawn away by distractions from those things most important to my spirit.  When I am tempted to relax in my duties to those whom I serve, or should be serving around me – I would do well to “remember Him.”  He who never let up or slackened His efforts to bring His gospel to all the sons of men.

2.  When I am tempted to think that my life, my efforts, the fruits of my labors or any aspect of my life should be easier – I would do well to remember that Salvation never has been “easy.”  The Savior, Jesus Christ, the greatest of all, suffered in all His labors.  In the end He besought His Father that there might be an easier way – yet He humbly subjected Himself to the will of His Father and the price of Salvation and for the work He was assigned.  So too must I – must we – accept that we have been lovingly commanded in Luke 22:32 by Him who’s work we accept to do, first with a loving statement of support, and then the gentle command, “But I have prayed for thee, that thy faith fail not: and when thou art convertedstrengthen thy brethren,” to strengthen our brethren.

No, this is not an easy path.  No this path will not garner fame or fortune.  No this path will not bring ease relaxation.  What this path WILL bring, is eternal life – the greatest of all the gifts of God.

Leave a Reply

